Gluten-Free Fried Calamari with Avocado Aioli

I was in the mood for something different for dinner, so my wife and I decided to make gluten-free fried calamari.  Gluten Free Easily has a pretty basic recipe that I was able to use with slight modification.  I added cayenne pepper to the dredge and used a buttermilk and egg mixture to get the dredge to stick to the calamari.

The recipe also inspired me to make my own avocado aioli.  I used 1 avocado, 1 fire-roasted poblano pepper, the juice of two lemons, 5 cloves of garlic and 1 single-serving size container of plain greek yogurt to make the aioli.  I combined all the ingredients in a Vitamix and seasoned with salt and pepper to make the aioli.

The final product:

Squid is surprisingly difficult to cook with.  It took me a few tries before I was able to get the calamari cooked right.  After I perfected my technique, the calamari was delicious.  The avocado aioli was also tasty.  I wanted to use serrano peppers but they were all out at the store so I substituted a poblano pepper.  The next time I make it, I’ll use a few serrano peppers instead.

For my next post I’ll be trying to make gluten-free fried fish using a rice-based cereal and flour dredge with roasted garlic and brussel sprouts.

Finally, my wife wanted to make sure I let everyone know that this recipe would have been a total disaster if she didn’t step in and help me dredge the calamari and prep the aioli.

One Response to Gluten-Free Fried Calamari with Avocado Aioli

  1. So happy that you were able to use my recipe with a little adjustment to make wonderful gf calamari! It’s one of our favorites. 🙂 Avocado aioli would be delish, too.

    Thanks for the mention and link back!
    Shirley

Leave a Reply

