Roasted Fennel and Red Onion with Lemon Garlic Tilapia

I decided to cook with fennel for the first time the other day.  I’ve never tried it but it’s always showing up on all the different cooking shows I watch.  I found an easy-ish recipe on Epicurious.com and decided to use it with some slight variation.  I lowered the cooking temp. to 375 C and upped the cooking time to 30 minutes.  I found that the longer you cook the fennel, the more you mellow out the anise flavor.  I also skipped the butter.  I think olive oil by itself gives the roasted vegetables a nice kick in flavor.

Adjusting the roasting temp. to 375 C also means you can cook the tilapia at the same time as the fennel and red onion.  I found a nice recipe on Allrecipes.com and tweaked it to my liking.  I skipped the butter and used olive oil instead to make the recipe a little healthier and opted out of the parsley because I didn’t want to detract from the lemon flavor.  After coating the top side of the tilapia with 1 tsp of olive oil and the juice of half a lemon, I seasoned the fillet with salt and pepper and topped it with garlic and lemon slices.  Here’s what it looked like:

The recipe calls for roasting the tilapia for 30 minutes, but I was worried this would dry out all my hard work.  I decided to cook the fillet for 20 minutes and used aluminum foil to completely seal the fillet in a pouch, ensuring it would stay moist.

The recipe turned out great.  The fish was perfectly cooked and it paired perfectly with the roasted veggies.  If I do this recipe again, I’d use a bit more garlic with the fish and add a third veggie, something like butternut squash, to give the veggies a different texture.  I’ll definitely be cooking with fennel again.

Here’s a picture of the final product:

Leave a Reply

